Page is loading...

Common Halal and Non-Halal Sea Foods

Imam Husain Islamic Centre
"Eat any fish that has scales, and do not eat what does not have scales."
Imam Al-Baqir (a.s.)
[Al-Kulayni, Al-Kafi, Vol.6, p. 219]
no. Halal non-Halal
1 Anchovies Basa 
2 Barramundi Calamari
3 Bass  Catfish Eels
4 Carp / bream Clams
5 Cod / hake Eastern Cleaner- Clingfish 
6 Dory Crab Cray Fish
7 Flathead Flake
8 Flounder Grayfish
9 Herring Leather Jacket
10 Hoki - Blue Grenadier Lobster
11 Jew fish Marlin
12 Kingfish Muscles
13 Ling Octopus
14 Mackerel – except for snake mackerel Oyster
15 Perch Snails
16 Prawns  Snake Mackerels
17 Red fish Squab
18 Salmon  Squid
19 Sardines Shark
20 Shrimp Sturgeons
21 Snapper  Swordfish
22 Tailor  
23 Trevally  
24 Trout - But not including: European turbot (Scophthalmus maximus or Psetta maximus Trevally).  
25 Tuna except for Dogtooth Tuna also known as Peg Tooth Tuna & Scaleless Tuna.  
26 Whitefish  
27 Whiting  
28 Yellow tail  

Share this page

Do you see a reference or spelling mistake? Click here to help us fix it