[Subject] [Date] [Moderator] Home

['Aalim Network QR] Eating bloody meat


________________________________________________________________________
|                          w           w     w                          |\
|                           ||          ||   | ||                       |\
|                    o_,_7 _||  . _o_7 _|| 4_|_||  o_w_,                |\
|                   ( :   /    (_)    /           (   .                 |\
|                                                                       |\
|           ||  ||         |  ||   |T              |     | ||    |      |\
|   . _, _8 |_D_|| . _,_,_,_D_|| 4_|| q ]_o_7_o   _|_c 4_|_||   _|,_p q |\
|  (_): /         (_): . :            /        (_S           (_S      / |\
|                                                                       |\
|       In the Name of Allah, the Compassionate, the All-Merciful       |\
|  Greeting of Allah be upon Muhammad and the pure members of his House |\
|_______________________________________________________________________|\


Salamun `Alaykum

The following question was kindly answered by Shaykh Hasnain.


Fee Amaanillah,

Akil Karim
Moderator - 'Aalim Network

---------- Forwarded message ----------

QUESTION:

My question is in concern with meat. In the Holy Qur'an (e.g 5:4, 2:173,
6:145) it states that it is haram to eat bloody flesh. For this reason my
father says that dried meat is haram. But I see other brothers eating it
saying that it is infact permissable. I know when meat is dried the blood
dries on it. Brother will you please clear this up for me. 


ANSWER:

First of all, please accept my apologies for the delay in the following
reply. I have gone through several risalahs which I have with me and
nowhere has the above simple issue been covered thoroughly. All books of
fiqh in the chapter of Najasat, under subtitle 'blood' mention that the
blood which remains in a dhabeeha (a halal animal who is slaughtered
according to shari`ah) after the normal flow of blood is tahir (pak). The
books also mention in the chapter of "Food and Drinks"  that certain
parts of halal animals are forbidden to eat, one of them being blood.
Besides this no more details are given! 

However, the following two sources throw some light on the issue. Sayyid
Tabataba'i Yazdi in al-`Urwatul Wuthqaa writes: "the blood which remains
in dhabeeha, though tahir, is haram, except that which is in the meat and
is counted as part of it" (vol.1, Qum, 1412, p.51). Shaykh Mughniyyah in
Fiqh Imam Ja`far al-Sadiq (a) states: "15 items are haram in a dhabeeha,
1-Blood, which is besides what remains in a dhabeeha after the flow of
normal blood" (vol. 4, Beirut, 1402, p.381). 

It appears from the above that the blood, which remains in a dhabeeha
after the flow of the normal quantity of blood during the slaughtering,
is tahir. From this, some quantity of blood which is in the flesh such
that it is taken as part of the meat is permissible to eat. For we are
not eating/drinking the blood but are eating meat which has components of
tahir and halal blood. 

God knows the best.

Hasnain Kassamali
Humble servant of the Ahlul Bayt (a).


Back: ['Aalim Network QR] Eating at the Residence of Relative who Drinks
Forward: ['Aalim Network QR] Eating Fish
Home