[Subject] [Date] [Moderator] Home

['Aalim Network QR] Mono and Diglycerides in food products


________________________________________________________________________
|                          w           w     w                          |\
|                           ||          ||   | ||                       |\
|                    o_,_7 _||  . _o_7 _|| 4_|_||  o_w_,                |\
|                   ( :   /    (_)    /           (   .                 |\
|                                                                       |\
|           ||  ||         |  ||   |T              |     | ||    |      |\
|   . _, _8 |_D_|| . _,_,_,_D_|| 4_|| q ]_o_7_o   _|_c 4_|_||   _|,_p q |\
|  (_): /         (_): . :            /        (_S           (_S      / |\
|                                                                       |\
|       In the Name of Allah, the Compassionate, the All-Merciful       |\
|  Greeting of Allah be upon Muhammad and the pure members of his House |\
|_______________________________________________________________________|\

Salaamun alaykum,

	The reply to the following question was kindly provided by Mulla 
Asghar.

Wasalaam,

Mustafa Rawji
Moderator, 'Aalim Network
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

QUESTION:

Salaam,

While most mono-and diglycerides (emulsifying agents in puddings,
ice cream,peanut butter, salad dressings, bread etc) on the market come
from plants (the oils of corn, peanuts and soybeans),some are derived from
animals (cows and hogs).  Identifying the foods that use animal sources is
near impossible.  Food labels are required to report only the presence of
mono-and diglycerides, not their sources.  Are these products halal?


ANSWER:

In such a situation, the products mentioned will be considered Halal.


Asgharali M.M. Jaffer




Back: ['Aalim Network QR] Models of animals/humans in the house.
Forward: ['Aalim Network QR] Month of Safar
Home