Lesson 8: The Teachings of Islam

A: Usul (Roots): The fundamental Principles, the belief in which is essential-for a Muslim. These are:
1. Tawheed (Oneness of God)
2. ‘Adl (Justice of God)
3. Nubuwwat (Prophethood)
4. Imamat (Vicegerency of the Prophet)
5. Qiyamat (Resurrection)
B:-Furu’ or branches, which call for certain practices. These are:
1. Salat (Prayer)
2. Sawm (Fasting)
3. Hajj (Pilgrimage)
4. Zakat (Wealth tax)
5. Khums (One fifth levies)
6. Jihad (Holy war)
7. Amr bi’l ma’ruf (Enjoining the good)
8. Nahy ‘an al-munkar (Forbidding the evil)
9. Tawalla (To love and follow 14 Ma’sumeen)
10. Tabarra (To remain aloof from the enemies of 14 Ma’sumeen).