Surah Asr, Chapter 103

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَٰنِ الرَّحِيمِ

In the Name of God the Compassionate, the Merciful

Verses 1 – 3

وَالْعَصْرِ {1}

1. By the period when Kayam1 will appear.2

إِنَّ الْإِنْسَانَ لَفِي خُسْرٍ {2}

2. Veril the hostile party3 shall undergo a heavy loss.

إِلَّا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا وَعَمِلُوا الصَّالِحَاتِ وَتَوَاصَوْا بِالْحَقِّ وَتَوَاصَوْا بِالصَّبْرِ {3}

3. Except the faithful acting righteously and advising to stand by Truth4 and bearing patiently when (present hard times).5


For further elucidation of “Faith” see expounding thereof by Divine Light 1 Ali. Faith expounded by Ali (Divine Light 1). Reference Moral to Surah 103.6

  • 1. 12th Divine Light.
  • 2. As he is hidden under Divine commands.
  • 3. To Divine Lights busy about accumaltion of wealth.
  • 4. Right cause of Divine Lights.
  • 5. God qualified 12th Divine Lilght by His attribute of Invisibility.
  • 6. When asked about Faith, he remarked: (1) it was recognition by the heart, (2) and its admission by the tongue, (3) confirmation by acts.

    When asked how it could be recognized he remarked: Faith is based on four pillars: (1) patience, (2) certainty, (3) justice, and (4) self-denial. Again, patience has four phases: (1) longing, (2) fear, (3) piety, (4) expectation. Thus he who has longing for paradise forsakes pleasures ofthe world and closes his eyes agains them and he who is afraid of fire, flees from illegal and unfair. He who became piour, lightened his grief, he who expects death hastens to righteous acts. Similarly, certainty has four phases: (1) consideration of intelligence, (2) realising truth, (3) taking lessons from others, (4) following predecessors. He who considered affairs intelligently, knowledge and action thereon was manifest before him, andhe to whom was evident wisdom and straight path was acquainted with taking advice from states of acquaintances. he who took lessons from others, remained with them. He who followed predecessors saw consequencs thereof was convinced of origin of birth and reversion thereof.

    Now justice has four phases: (1) effort in discovery, (2) attaining truth wisely (3) ordering virtue, (4) steady in being firm. He who made an hones effort discovered truth, and he who discoverd gave a true decision based on religion, and ordered virtue, and he who was firm in his character gained fame in society, leading pleasant llife. Similarly, self-denial has four phaswes: (1) ordering virtue, (2) barring vice, (3) ture in speech, (4) hostile to evil by (1) strengthening the faithful, (2) by driving out imposters, (3) by discharging his duty bounden on him, (4) to win Divine will, God shall cast wrath on the hostile forces and will be rewarded on Reckoning Day by Providence.

    N.B. Everygody’s test shall depend on the share of Faith endowed on him by Providence.