[Subject] [Date] [Moderator] Home

['Aalim Network QR] Ingredients sourced from animals


________________________________________________________________________
|                          w           w     w                          |\
|                           ||          ||   | ||                       |\
|                    o_,_7 _||  . _o_7 _|| 4_|_||  o_w_,                |\
|                   ( :   /    (_)    /           (   .                 |\
|                                                                       |\
|           ||  ||         |  ||   |T              |     | ||    |      |\
|   . _, _8 |_D_|| . _,_,_,_D_|| 4_|| q ]_o_7_o   _|_c 4_|_||   _|,_p q |\
|  (_): /         (_): . :            /        (_S           (_S      / |\
|                                                                       |\
|       In the Name of Allah, the Compassionate, the All-Merciful       |\
|  Greeting of Allah be upon Muhammad and the pure members of his House |\
|_______________________________________________________________________|\

The following question was kindly answered by Sayyid Muhammad Rizvi.

Regards

Abbas Jaffer

Moderator - ABDG-A.

................................................................

Question:

Would you please answer these questions according to Ayat. Khooee, Ayat.
Khomaini and Ayat. Seestani.

There are some ingredients which might have animal source in addition to
vegetable source. What is the Hokm of them? for example:
a) Lecithin
b) Mono and Diglecerids
If you have any specific hokm regarding these two, please let me know.

...................................................................

Answer:

I would answer the question in two parts:

a) if you know that some ingredients are from animal source, then it is not
permissible unless it is from a halal and Islamically slaughtered animal.

b) Lecithin and Mono- or Di-Glyceride: These are fatty substance found in
plants and animal tissues (such as egg york and brain tissue, etc), and also
in fats and oils. According to Encyclopedia Brittanica, commercial lecithin
comes mostly from soybean oil (vol. 7, p. 230) whereas Mono- and
Di-Glyceride are prepared synthetically (vol. 4, p. 694). Based on this
information, I think we can assume that lecithin and mono- or di-glecerids
used for commercial purposes are not extracted from animal tissues and,
therefore, both these substances are permissible. This will be the rule
unless you come to KNOW that they have been extracted from animal source.

This is based on the hukm that if a substance can be extracted from a tahir
(pak) source (such as plants) and also from a najis source (such as haram
animals) -- then you can assume that it is from the tahir source unless you
come to know otherwise.

Sayyid M. Rizvi



Back: ['Aalim Network QR] Information on Alims on ABDG-A
Forward: ['Aalim Network QR] Inheritance
Home