Hajj al-Tamattu

Article 253

As we have mentioned before, Hajj al-Tamattu’ should be performed after Umrah al-Tamattu’ and it has thirteen acts as follows:

1- Wearing Ihram from Mecca.

2- Wuquf which means staying in “Arafat” from about the noon until the sunset of the ninth day of Dhu’l-Hijjah.

3- Wuquf in Mash’ar al-Haraam; it means to stay there from the dawn until the sunrise of Eid of Qurban (festivity of sacrifice).

4- Going to Mena (also Mina) and performing Ramy al-Jamarah al-Aqaba (throwing seven pebbles to the place, which is allocated at the end of Mena that is called “al-Jamarah al-Aqaba or al-Jamarah al-Uula).

5- Sacrificing in Mena in the day of Eid (tenth of Dhu’l-Hijjah).

6- Taqsir that means shaving the head or cutting a piece of hair or nail.

7- Tawaf of Ka’ba (this Tawaf is called Tawaf of pilgrimage).

8- Performing two Rak’ats of prayer of Tawaf.

9- Seven times of Sa’y,(shuttling) between Safa and Marwah.

10- Performing another Tawaf, that is called Tawaf of Nisa’.

11- Performing Two Rak’ats of prayer of Tawaf of Nisa’.

12- Staying the eleventh and the twelfth nights in Mena.

13- Performing Triple Ramy al-Jamarat that means throwing seven pebbles to each of three places, which are situated in Mena in the eleventh and the twelfth days.

Explanation of each one of these acts will be mentioned in following articles.