Halal

Halal (; Arabic: حلال‎ ḥalāl, "permissible"), also spelled hallal or halaal, refers to what is permissible or lawful in traditional Islamic law. It is frequently applied to permissible food and drinks.

116087

Sayyed Mohammad Al-Musawi, Sayyed Mohammad al-Musawi is originally from Iraq and heads up the World Ahlul Bayt Islamic League in London. Other than being involved in various humanitarian projects, he frequently responds to... Answered 1 month ago

In principle yes, but we must keep in mind the importance of our time as our most important capital, and never waste our time in things which have no benefit for us in this life and hereafter. It is allowed to play sports and engage in recreation activities which have no wrong in it, but we should never neglect the importance of our time which should be used in achieving the main aims of our life for which we were been created.

Wassalam.

123351

Sayyed Mohammad Al-Musawi, Sayyed Mohammad al-Musawi is originally from Iraq and heads up the World Ahlul Bayt Islamic League in London. Other than being involved in various humanitarian projects, he frequently responds to... Answer updated 2 months ago

It is not permissible for a Muslim to deliver alcohol, beer as well as pork to any one even to non Muslims.

Other non Halal food can be delivered to non Muslims who are allowed by their religion to consume it.
Wassalam.

119624

Sayyed Mohammad Al-Musawi, Sayyed Mohammad al-Musawi is originally from Iraq and heads up the World Ahlul Bayt Islamic League in London. Other than being involved in various humanitarian projects, he frequently responds to... Answered 4 months ago

It is not obligatory to feed our pets Halal meat or food, though it is better to do so if we can, but it is not Haraam to feed our pets non Halal food. Non Halal food is Haraam (not allowed) forus but not Haraam on animals.

Wassalam.

103968

Sayyed Mohammad Al-Musawi, Sayyed Mohammad al-Musawi is originally from Iraq and heads up the World Ahlul Bayt Islamic League in London. Other than being involved in various humanitarian projects, he frequently responds to... Answered 5 months ago

Shrimp (prawn) is Halal. It is not Makrouh. It is the only sea food which is Halal beside the fish with scales. Shrimp is Halal according to Shia and Sunni sects.

Wassalam.

112946

Sayyed Mohammad Al-Musawi, Sayyed Mohammad al-Musawi is originally from Iraq and heads up the World Ahlul Bayt Islamic League in London. Other than being involved in various humanitarian projects, he frequently responds to... Answered 8 months ago

If the food has animal ingredients, you must be sure that it is Halal before  consuming it. Animal ingredients are not allowed for eating before being sure that it is Halal.

If the food has no animal ingredients, nor alcohol, and you don't know that it has Najis ingredients, then it will be allowed for you to consume it.

Wassalam.

112314

Seyed Ali Shobayri, Seyed Ali Shobayri is of mixed Iranian and Scottish descent who found the path of the Ahlul Bayt (a) by his own research. He holds a BA in Islamic Studies from Middlesex University through the... Answered 8 months ago

Bismillah, 

Asalamu Alaykom, 

Earning a halal income is an act of worship and is pleasing to Allah swt. Yes, it is true that some jobs may also fit into different catergories too. For example a job which involves charity related work such as helping the needy people or orphans could fall under the category of mustahab jobs. You may then get jobs which fall under the category of makruh such as selling Kafans or working in a slaughterhouse. Such jobs although not haram, become makruh as a kafan seller may wish more people to die for sales to go up, and the one who slaughters animals for meat, may become used to such an action and cold hearted. 
 

What one should be careful of is falling into a job which is in the haram category making ones income unlawful. 
 

May Allah grant you success 

112384

Sayyed Mohammad Al-Musawi, Sayyed Mohammad al-Musawi is originally from Iraq and heads up the World Ahlul Bayt Islamic League in London. Other than being involved in various humanitarian projects, he frequently responds to... Answered 8 months ago

Non Muslim seller who claims that the meat he is selling or wants to sell is Halal can not be taken as an authentic evidence that the meat is really Halal. If Muslim tells you that his meat is Halal and you have no reason to doubt his statement, then you can take the neat as Halal.

Restaurants selling alcohol or pork can never be trusted as utensils and plates used in cooking or serving alcohol or pork  become Najis and and every other food put in Najis utensils and plates becomes Najis as well.

Wassalam.

104588

Amina Inloes, Amina Inloes is originally from the US and has a PhD in Islamic Studies from the University of Exeter on Shi'a hadith. She is the program leader for the MA Islamic Studies program at the... Answered 1 year ago

This is not "music" (please, no one get angry at me or insulted because I am calling this "music"!), but I found it interesting the way they have arranged the NASHEED in an orchestral manner, and it seems to fall into the category of "halal":

https://youtu.be/4fLB5XAteKU

Prohibitions are based on hadith. Interpretations of Islamic law which allow for use of musical instruments are based on reconsidering the applicability/correctness of those hadith or the cultural context.

For instance, the type of music that is mentioned in hadith was usually associated with licentious behaviour, alcohol, dancing slave girls, and other ethically problematic things, whereas elevator music does not have those connotations today. Still, it is good to consider that certain instruments may have positive or negative effects on people ethically or spiritually, and not to assume that everything is cultural context - God knows best.

99743

Sayyed Mohammad Al-Musawi, Sayyed Mohammad al-Musawi is originally from Iraq and heads up the World Ahlul Bayt Islamic League in London. Other than being involved in various humanitarian projects, he frequently responds to... Answered 1 year ago

We are not allowed to invest in any company dealing with unlawful activities no matter how much is the percentage of it. Muslim is allowed to invest when 100% of the business is lawful.

'Wassalam.

73401

Sayyed Mohammad Al-Musawi, Sayyed Mohammad al-Musawi is originally from Iraq and heads up the World Ahlul Bayt Islamic League in London. Other than being involved in various humanitarian projects, he frequently responds to... Answered 1 year ago

It is not true to say that every locust is Halal to eat. Locusts which die in the water or on the earth are not Halal at all.  The Hadeeth from Ali Ibn Jafar, the brother of Imam Musa Ibn Jafar (AS): I asked Abul Hasan (AS) (Imam Musa Ibn Jafar): About the locusts found dead in the water or  in the desert, can it be eaten? Imam said: Do not eat it. (Wasaa'il Al-Shia, Hadeeth number 30067).

Only locusts which are taken alive then die are Halal (Hadeeth number 30068 in Wasaa'il Al-Shia).

The people in Arabia used to eat all types of locusts and many of them still eat it, but Islam forbade eating the dead locusts and the small locusts as well till it Fly.

Usually, non Arab Muslims do not eat and even do not like the idea of eating locusts, while many Arabs specially those wo live in the desert, do.

It is not necessary for the Imam (AS) himself to eat every thing which is allowed to eat or to do every thing which allowed to do. Imam (AS) is the Best and Most humble servant of Allah (SWT) and he does only the best deeds and not every deed which is allowed for general public who have their their own needs and circumstances.

Wassalam.

72274

Sayyed Mohammad Al-Musawi, Sayyed Mohammad al-Musawi is originally from Iraq and heads up the World Ahlul Bayt Islamic League in London. Other than being involved in various humanitarian projects, he frequently responds to... Answered 1 year ago

Music which is used usually by the sinners is Haraam.

Wassalam.

79316

Zoheir Ali Esmail, Shaykh Zoheir Ali Esmail has a Bsc in Accounting and Finance from the LSE in London, and an MA in Islamic Studies from Middlesex University. He studied Arabic at Damascus University and holds a PhD... Answered 1 year ago

Bismillah

Thank you for your question. It is not permissible to eat meat which has not been slaughtered according to Islamic law, except in a situation of starvation, where there is no alternative (no other food at all) and at that point a person is allowed to eat only the amount that is necessary for survival. In Western countries this type of situation is not usual and there are plenty of alternatives to eat such as fish with scales, prawns, vegetables and other types of carbohydrates (bread, rice, pasta) and so on. 
 

May you always be successful