Cooking Oil

128330

Seyed Ali Shobayri, Seyed Ali Shobayri is of mixed Iranian and Scottish descent who found the path of the Ahlul Bayt (a) by his own research. He holds a BA in Islamic Studies from Middlesex University through the... Answered 1 month ago

Bismillah, 

If one knows that a product is fried with non-halal meat, then it would become najis (impure) and haram to eat. If one didn't know then there is no sin upon them. 
 

May Allah grant you success 

98065

Sayyed Mohammad Al-Musawi, Sayyed Mohammad al-Musawi is originally from Iraq and heads up the World Ahlul Bayt Islamic League in London. Other than being involved in various humanitarian projects, he frequently responds to... Answered 11 months ago

If the whole surface is covered by oil which made a layer on it, you need to remove the oil first.

Wassalam.

70437

Abbas Di Palma, Shaykh Abbas Di Palma holds a BA and an MA degree in Islamic Studies, and certifications from the Language Institute of Damascus University. He has also studied traditional Islamic sciences in... Answered 2 years ago

as salam alaikum

there is no problem applying oil or perfume while fasting, it is permissible and it does not invalidate the fast.

With prayers for your success.

51328

Zaid Alsalami, Shaykh Dr Zaid Alsalami is an Iraqi born scholar, raised in Australia. He obtained a BA from Al-Mustafa University, Qom, and an MA from the Islamic College in London. He also obtained a PhD from... Answered 3 years ago

Bismihi ta'ala 

In these mentioned cases, cross-contamination with najasah would make the food najis as well, and therefore haram to eat.

Unless you know that the common process in these restaurants is that they wash the pizza pan, change gloves, wash the knife, and so on. You can ask them these questions, and you can ask that the pizza not be cut, to avoid contamination from najasah

As for using the same oven, that would not be a problem, because the pizza is put on a pan and then in the oven. If a pan is not used, then this is when there would be a problem. 

In regards to french fries, or "chips", not only must the oil itself be halal, it must not have been used for cooking anything non-halal that is najis. 

The oil must not be animal based, so it should be vegetable oil. What is cooked in it must not be najis, like meat that has not been Islamically slaughtered. However, if it is not halal to eat, but tahir, then there would not be a problem, like non-halal sea food. This is something you will experience in a fish and chips shop, where they might cook fish that does not have scales, or maybe even crab, in the same oil as the chips, or halal fish. In this case there is no problem, as long as there are no pieces of that food sticking to the food that you are going to eat.

And Allah knows best.